A Good Starter 8mm Film (Suggestion Needed)

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

BobClack60

A Good Starter 8mm Film (Suggestion Needed)

Post by BobClack60 »

100% 8mm newbie here.

Am looking for a film to start out with and was wondering if anyone had a suggestion.

Criteria:
* B&W
* Outdoor shooting.
* DIY processing is a must.
* Expired film preferred for a retro look.

Looking around Ebay and similar places, there seems to be no shortage of expired Kodachrome and Ektachrome available.

Kodak Tri-X reversal seems to be plentiful as well.

What I'm not seeing is a simple, vanilla b&w film that can be satisfactorily processed using easily obtainable chemistry (or caffenol).

Does this exist?

Thank you in advance.

Bob
chrisgavin

Re: A Good Starter 8mm Film (Suggestion Needed)

Post by chrisgavin »

Hi Bob,

I'm rather assuming you might be asking about Super 8 8mm film (in cartridges), rather than Regular 8 film (in rolls) ... If so, then I've got a great suggestion for you...

This year I discovered Argenti PAN-X BW Negative super 8 film and I LOVE the stuff...

Right now, this is the cheapest super 8 film I can buy. I'm in the UK and I order it online from here...
http://www.18frames.co.uk/product/argenti-pan-x-100

It's black and white, it's 100ASA and it's the same as APX100 stills film.
This means it's GREAT for home processing...
You can use exactly the same chemicals as for BW stills, and it absolutely works with Caffenol processing too. (that's what I tried first with it.)
The processing is way simpler than any reversal processing, the chemicals are less evil and you do it all at 20degC (room temperature).
Obviously this is a negative film, so you will invert the picture in post production; this is not a film for projection.

I've made a couple of short films so far with this stock...
As you can see, you get a very rough and grainy look without a doubt...