NEWBIE help please.

Forum covering all aspects of small gauge cinematography! This is the main discussion forum.

Moderator: Andreas Wideroe

optic_85

NEWBIE help please.

Post by optic_85 »

Ok, let me first say that i am 19 and have always loved film. Im a movie buff, and i would like to pursue film as a career. However, growing up in the age of video tapes and digital i have no experience with ACTUAL film. I have made a few shorts, but only on hi-8 video tape. I have thought about it quite a bit, but dismissed the idea(until recently). Currently i work at a salvation army, and someone donated a 8mm editor. I purchased it and have decided it is something i want to explore. The problem is i still need to buy a camera(i have a projector, but im am not sure if it works), and i have reletively no clue what im doing. So what im saying is i need your help, i know uneducted posts such as this are annoying, but indulge me....

-what are the main advatages to shooting in 8mm?

-For a beginner is there a particularly good camera i should get? what features should i look for?

-Does the film record sound?

-where can i get film?

-how long is a roll of film?(minutes?)

-ANY other tips or info would be nice?
BigBeaner

Post by BigBeaner »

It's simple a lot of questions can be answered at this post:
viewtopic.php?t=8155